Industry standards for openness and compatibility

Only if we all share our information transparently with others on one platform, digitization will work. It needs the use and integration of industry standards, a common understanding and thus a common language.

We at Transaction-Network are certain: silo solutions and closed-shop programs are not up to date. They prevent the IT systems from growing together and thus prevent the digitization of your company.

For us, it is therefore a matter of course that we build on industry standards such as the AAS (Asset Administration Shell) of the IDTA (Industrial Digital Twin Association), OPC UA Companion Specifications and Weihenstephan standards. Therefore, we are actively involved in the committees to shape, define and develop these standards.

Your advantages of using standards

The use of common industry standards enables a seamless flow of information and data between different systems and platforms and thus between different market and industry participants.

The connections and interfaces between these systems can be implemented quickly and easily.

Only through standards a shift from individual solutions (data silos) to cross-manufacturer industry solutions is possible.

We are a member and supporter of

Open Industry 4.0 Alliance

The Open Industry Alliance is an alliance of European industrial companies founded in spring 2019 that work collaboratively to implement cross-vendor Industrie 4.0 solutions and services. Together, existing standards are used to promote interoperability and to decisively advance Industry 4.0 with a view to the common goal.

Commenting on joining, Gerd Bart, founder and CEO of Transaction-Network, is pleased to say: “We can only master today’s challenges of digitalization together and on the basis of open architectures. The OI4 Alliance is exactly the right network to meet these challenges.


The Industrial Digital Twin Association e.V. (IDTA) is designing an open, technology-independent standard for the Digital Twin with its Asset Administration Shell (AAS). The AAS consists of a set of sub-models that describe all the data and functionalities of a given asset – such as characteristics, properties, states, parameters, measurement data, and capabilities. The AAS enables the use of various communication channels as well as applications and connects objects to the digital and decentralized world. With the AAS, IDTA is opening up the technology to every company and setting industry standards. The IDTA acts as a central point of contact for all stakeholders. Together with partners, customers and competitors, the specifications for interoperability are provided and processes, criteria and tools are defined to create and test the Digital Twin.


OPC Unified Architecture (OPC UA) is a standard for data exchange as a platform-independent, service-oriented architecture (SOA). As the latest generation of all Open Platform Communications (OPC) specifications, OPC UA differs significantly from its predecessors, particularly in its ability not only to transport machine data (controlled variables, measured values, parameters, etc.), but also to describe them semantically in a machine-readable manner.

Weihenstephan Standards

The Weihenstephan Standards (WS) simplify the networking of plants and production machines in the food and beverage industry by providing a uniform communication interface for the standardized transfer of machine and process data to higher-level IT systems. The Weihenstephan standards help by providing standardized interfaces with easy-to-implement communication standards, uniquely defined data points, domain-specific machine profiles and evaluation recommendations. For the transmission of WS data points, the two communication standards WS OPC UA and WS Protocol are available, that determine in which form the data are structured and transmitted. For the communication within an Industry 4.0 environment, the Weihenstephan standards rely on OPC UA.